Visitors: 51

±Follow Forensic Focus

Join our LinkedIn group

Subscribe to news

Subscribe to forums

Subscribe to blog

Subscribe to tweets

Wanted: Encase v6 dongle

Sell your old stuff here or post requests for things you want. STRICTLY PRIVATE ADS ONLY.
Reply to topicReply to topic Printer Friendly Page
Forum FAQSearchView unanswered posts
Go to page 1, 2  Next 

Wanted: Encase v6 dongle

Post Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 7:59 am

Hi,

I'm a third year student based in the UK. I was going to purchase Encase 7 but from having a read around it sounds like it wont be worth the purchase. Anyone selling a version 6 dongle, please get in touch.  

smich

Re: Wanted: Encase v6 dongle

Post Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:06 am

I'm curious...why do you feel the need to purchase EnCase, with all of the other excellent and freely available tools that are out there?  

keydet89

Post Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:40 am

Most of my practical assignments spread over the rest of the academic year will be based on the usage of Encase. That plus the fact that it seems to be pretty much an industry standard seems like it would be useful for me to have outside of just scheduled lab sessions.

Which tools do you prefer?  

smich

Post Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:46 am

RegRipper, Perl (for creating my own tools), etc. Check any of my books.

There are tools such as Autopsy, SIFT, DFF, etc.

I guess that as much as I would hope that the "industry standard" would be for analysts to know enough about what they to do to make their choice of tool an educated and reasoned decision, what it really comes down to is, "everyone's doing it".  

keydet89

Post Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:02 am

- keydet89
I guess that as much as I would hope that the "industry standard" would be for analysts to know enough about what they to do to make their choice of tool an educated and reasoned decision, what it really comes down to is, "everyone's doing it".