±Your Account

Username
Password

Forgotten password/username?

Site Members:

New Today: 0 Overall: 33155
New Yesterday: 2 Visitors: 276

±Follow Forensic Focus

Forensic Focus Facebook PageForensic Focus on TwitterForensic Focus LinkedIn GroupForensic Focus YouTube Channel

RSS feeds: News Forums Articles

±Latest Articles

RSS Feed Widget

±Latest Webinars

Technical Assessment

Discussion of computer forensics employment and career issues.
Reply to topicReply to topic Printer Friendly Page
Forum FAQSearchView unanswered posts
Go to page 1, 2  Next 

Technical Assessment

Post Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 5:47 pm

Hi,

I've passed the paper sift for an internal vacancy for a Digital Forensics Officer within the UK Police force I currently work for. I have no background or real experience with digital forensics however I am very confident in my IT abilities and I have a good practical knowledge of CCTV and image recovery from the role I currently perform.

I've been told the next stage of the process is a technical assessment which won't be an assessment of digital forensic skill as the post does not require any previous experience, but is a knowledge test focusing on the types of background knowledge one would require to perfom the role. I'm guessing this will be based on knowledge of various operating systems, including mobile phones and tablet PC's, hardware identification and data transfer types.

Does anyone have any examples of such tests that may assist me or any ideas of the kind of questions that may be asked? I'm told it will be a 1.5hr paper based assessment.

I really really want this job as I think it will suit me perfectly however my hunger for it has bred a lack of confidence in my abilities. Some prior preparation would be a great way to put my mind at ease!

Many thanks in advance!

Rich  

NotoriousBSE

Re: Technical Assessment

Post Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 7:33 pm