±Forensic Focus Partners

±Your Account


Nickname
Password


Forgotten password/username?


Membership:
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 1
Overall: 27316
Visitors: 53

±Follow Forensic Focus

Join our LinkedIn group

Subscribe to news

Subscribe to forums

Subscribe to blog

Subscribe to tweets

Mounting an image

Computer forensics discussion. Please ensure that your post is not better suited to one of the forums below (if it is, please post it there instead!)
Reply to topicReply to topic Printer Friendly Page
Forum FAQSearchView unanswered posts
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next 
  

Re: Mounting an image

Post Posted: Sun Nov 18, 2007 10:42 am

I simply forgot that I already had put together a small batch to help creating a .pln file for a RAW image:
Code:
@ECHO OFF
SETLOCAL ENABLEDELAYEDEXPANSION
SETLOCAL ENABLEEXTENSIONS
SET /A HEADS=255
SET /A SECTORS=63

ECHO.
ECHO makepln.cmd: small batch file to create a .pln descriptor file
ECHO              for RAW disk images to be used with VDK.EXE to 
ECHO              mount the image with the correct geometry
ECHO Author:      jaclaz http://home.graffiti.net/jaclaz:graffiti.net/
ECHO.

IF %1.==/?. GOTO :Usage
IF %1.==. GOTO :Interactive

IF NOT EXIST %1 ECHO File NOT FOUND &GOTO :Interactive
CALL :Setvars %1
IF NOT %2.==. SET HEADS=%2
IF NOT %3.==. SET SECTORS=%3
GOTO :DOIT

:Interactive
ECHO Please input filename of the imagefile:
SET /P imgfile=
ECHO Imgfile is %imgfile%
CALL :Setvars %imgfile%
IF NOT EXIST %imgP%%imgN%%imgE% ECHO File NOT FOUND &GOTO :Interactive
ECHO Please input number of Heads for the imagefile [ENTER] for default 255:
SET /P HEADS=
REM SET /A HEADS=%HEADS%
ECHO Please input number of Sectors for the imagefile [ENTER] for default 63:
SET /P SECTORS=
REM SET /A SECTORS=%SECTORS%


:DOIT
FOR /F "tokens=3 delims= " %%A in ('DIR /-C %imgP%%imgN%%imgE% ^|FIND "%imgN%%imgE%"') DO SET /A TOTsectors=%%A/512
DIR /-C %imgP%%imgN%%imgE% |FIND "%imgN%%imgE%"
ECHO Tot sectors are %TOTsectors%
SET /A CYLYNDERS=%totsectors%/%SECTORS%/%HEADS%
:CheckSize
SET /A CheckCyl=%CYLYNDERS%*%SECTORS%*%HEADS%
IF NOT %CheckCyl% LEQ %totsectors% SET /A CYLYNDERS=%CYLYNDERS%-1&GOTO :CheckSize

IF %CYLYNDERS% LEQ 0 ECHO ERROR! Image too little for this geometry.&PAUSE&goto :EOF

ECHO.
ECHO The Following will be written to %imgP%%imgN%.pln:
CALL :Writefile CON
SET Confirm=
ECHO.
ECHO Type Y to confirm, Enter to abort:
SET /P Confirm=
IF /I NOT %Confirm%.==Y. PAUSE&GOTO :EOF
CALL :Writefile "%imgN%.pln"
ECHO File  %imgP%%imgN%.pln written.
PAUSE
GOTO :EOF

:Setvars
%~d1
CD %~dp1
SET imgN=%~n1
SET imgE=%~x1
SET imgP=%~dp1
GOTO :EOF

:Writefile
(
ECHO DRIVETYPE ide
ECHO CYLINDERS %CYLYNDERS%
ECHO HEADS     %HEADS%
ECHO SECTORS   %SECTORS%
ECHO ACCESS "%imgN%%imgE%" 0 %TOTsectors%
) > %1
GOTO :EOF

:Usage
ECHO Usage:
ECHO makepln.cmd [filename] [heads] [sectors]
ECHO Examples:
ECHO makepln.cmd C:\testimg.img 16 63
ECHO makepln.cmd C:\testimg.img (will default to Nx255x63)
ECHO Long filenames are OK, as long as given inside double quotes
ECHO If no parameters are given, will enter interactive mode
GOTO :EOF 
 

Last edited by jaclaz on Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:11 am; edited 1 time in total

jaclaz
Senior Member
 
 
  

Re: Mounting an image

Post Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 12:34 pm

@keydet89

FYI, Olof has recently released a newish version of IMDISK that (finally) "automaps" the partition:
www.boot-land.net/foru...0&start=20
Wink


jaclaz  

jaclaz
Senior Member
 
 
  

Re: Mounting an image

Post Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 1:17 pm

Ok, along the lines of this post, does anyone have any known image mounting software that will work with Windows Vista? I have Smart Mount, ImDisk, FTK Imager. Get the same problem with all of them, access is denied when trying to mount image as a drive. I've already checked the permissions and have full access to the image. Any ideas?  

MMachor
Senior Member
 
 
  

Re: Mounting an image

Post Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 7:20 pm

- MMachor
Ok, along the lines of this post, does anyone have any known image mounting software that will work with Windows Vista? I have Smart Mount, ImDisk, FTK Imager. Get the same problem with all of them, access is denied when trying to mount image as a drive. I've already checked the permissions and have full access to the image. Any ideas?


Mind you I don't use /like Vista, but maybe:

Have you tried running as "true Admin"?
www.boot-land.net/foru...topic=4057

With UAC disabled?
www.boot-land.net/foru...&st=25

jaclaz  

jaclaz
Senior Member
 
 
  

Re: Mounting an image

Post Posted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 8:17 pm

Have tried both with the same results. Thanks though. I'll keep trying untill I find something.  

MMachor
Senior Member
 
 
  

Re: Mounting an image

Post Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:18 pm

I have been using ImDisk. Seems to work good, and is a freeware tool.  

MMachor
Senior Member
 
 
  

Re: Mounting an image

Post Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 12:28 pm

- MMachor
I have been using ImDisk. Seems to work good, and is a freeware tool.

I don't get it.

You had just posted that IMDISK did not work for you? Shocked

Does it work or does it not?

jaclaz  

jaclaz
Senior Member
 
 
Reply to topicReply to topic

Share this forum topic to encourage more replies



Page 7 of 10
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next