±Forensic Focus Partners

Become an advertising partner

±Your Account


Username
Password

Forgotten password/username?

Site Members:

New Today: 0 Overall: 35399
New Yesterday: 0 Visitors: 178

±Follow Forensic Focus

Forensic Focus Facebook PageForensic Focus on TwitterForensic Focus LinkedIn GroupForensic Focus YouTube Channel

RSS feeds: News Forums Articles

±Latest Articles

±Latest Webinars

Mounting an image

Computer forensics discussion. Please ensure that your post is not better suited to one of the forums below (if it is, please post it there instead!)
Reply to topicReply to topic Printer Friendly Page
Forum FAQSearchView unanswered posts
Page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next 
  

keydet89
Senior Member
 

Mounting an image

Post Posted: Mar 15, 07 00:10

Can anyone recommend a tool for mounting a dd image under Windows besides Mount Image Pro or EnCase?

How about mounting a dd image of a logical drive under Windows?

Thanks,

Harlan  
 
  

wilber999
Member
 

Re: Mounting an image

Post Posted: Mar 15, 07 02:14

I am a big fan of FTK Imager. It should accomplish both of your tasks
_________________
Bill Dean, CCE 
 
  

hogfly
Senior Member
 

Re: Mounting an image

Post Posted: Mar 15, 07 02:30

harlan,

Cygwin should be able to provide this through the loopback adapter.
Paraben P2 explorer is similar to MIP

I don't know of much else off the top of my head.  
 
  

keydet89
Senior Member
 

Re: Mounting an image

Post Posted: Mar 15, 07 10:54

Gents,

Thanks for the responses. One of the guys on my team has an image of a logical partition/drive, and needs to mount it to scan it with AV. I've sent your suggestions to him...I did notice at the P2eXplorer page that it says that is supports both physical and logical image types, so that may work.

Thanks again,

Harlan  
 
  

bgrundy
Senior Member
 

Re: Mounting an image

Post Posted: Mar 15, 07 11:09

- hogfly
Cygwin should be able to provide this through the loopback adapter.


Unless things have changed recently, Cygwin does not have that capability in windows, although you *can* use something like FileDisk (http://www.acc.umu.se/~bosse/) to create target mounts for Cygwin. One of our techs tested this when it first came out (not sure if he used it with Cygwin or not) and he sent us out a notice about it.

Harlan, I never got around to using FileDisk myself, but it might be close to what you are looking for. If P2eXplorer is not ideal, this is another option to pass on. YMMV.

Barry
NASA OIG CCD
(from the Bat Cave)  
 
  

bgrundy
Senior Member
 

Re: Mounting an image

Post Posted: Mar 15, 07 11:10

<dupe post>  
 
  

keydet89
Senior Member
 

Re: Mounting an image

Post Posted: Mar 15, 07 12:55

Barry,

Thanks, I'm waiting to hear back from our guy with the issue.

H  
 

Page 1 of 10
Page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next