±Your Account

Username
Password

Forgotten password/username?

Site Members:

New Today: 0 Overall: 32909
New Yesterday: 2 Visitors: 152

±Follow Forensic Focus

Forensic Focus Facebook PageForensic Focus on TwitterForensic Focus LinkedIn GroupForensic Focus YouTube Channel

RSS feeds: News Forums Articles

±Latest Articles

RSS Feed Widget

±Latest Webinars

EnCase Bug?

Computer forensics discussion. Please ensure that your post is not better suited to one of the forums below (if it is, please post it there instead!)
Reply to topicReply to topic Printer Friendly Page
Forum FAQSearchView unanswered posts
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next 

Re: EnCase Bug?

Post Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:37 am

- Pete
Hi Rich2005
Is it possibly a bug or is it most likely human error. As I say, I have no knowledge of the workings of Encase, and neither of course did the judge and jury. Does it even make an automatic adjustment.

Good question. I know a few investigators that have passed off errors as 'software bugs'. I would say get him to repeat it and show how to replicate it yourself. If he can't or won't you may have your answer...

DFICSI

Post Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 12:04 pm

Can I just make sure that we are all singing from the same hymn sheet?

I understood, from the EnCase info, that the bug/feature/phenomenon applies to LEF (Logical Evidence Files) exhibt.L01 not to image files exhibit.E01.

Is this correct?  

GlosSteveC

Post Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 12:07 pm

- Pete
Then, like the opening post say, doesn't this bring the whole integrity of Encase into question

Integrity is a property of people, not software.