Clear all

Reliability of an external enclosure hardware write blocker

12 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@fraudit)
Trusted Member
Topic starter

I have an urgent case to investigate that involves M.2 SSD M-key connector drive. I don't have the M.2->SATA adapter for M-key, so I could safely connect it to my blocker. I can obviously buy one but since this standard is less common than the B-key, delivery will take a few days which I cannot allow.

I can get directly an external enclosure (Icy Box brand) that's equipped with the write blocker. I've never used this type of blocking before and would like to know your opinions on its reliability. Do you find it safe to use?

Posted : 28/08/2019 3:08 pm
(@rich2005)
Honorable Member

I've not tried it yet personally (as I've got hardware write-blockers) but Caine ( https://www.caine-live.net/ ) lists having drivers for the latest SSDs (NVME) so in theory you could image it using that without the need for additional hardware.

Posted : 28/08/2019 3:41 pm
minime2k9
(@minime2k9)
Honorable Member

I'd use a Linux distro and either connect it via USB or put it into a machine and boot the machine to the Linux distro.
Think we use an m2 adapter and then just connect it to a DEFT X machine.

Posted : 28/08/2019 7:46 pm
(@d1m4g3r)
Eminent Member

Just as suggested in previous replies, I recommend getting a Linux Distro. Deft and Paladin are exceptional when it comes to handling SSD media. Give them a try and I wish you all the best.

Posted : 29/08/2019 6:08 am
(@fraudit)
Trusted Member
Topic starter

Thank you all for your tips!

I eventualy went for CAINE (as I used it already before) and did the job.

Posted : 29/08/2019 2:47 pm
 Suai
(@suai)

Going back to the subject of write bloc using software solutions.