2 Users
0 Likes
Yawl
 Yawl
(@yawl)
Topic starter

Hello everyone

I am a student.

I just would like to have some practice working with Universal Flasher Box to extract raw dump from some Nokias mobile phone and work around it in order to gain some experience.

I have the UB along with its cables. The UB supports many Nokias, Sony Ericson and some Blackberry models.

I connected my UB and installed all the software and did update it. I tried to extract the memory dump from a Nokia N73 by connecting it to the UB. I selected Nokia, then Maintenance and from there PM maintenance. From the icon Read From Phone I extracted a file and saved it to my laptop. The file's name came up as RM-133_3597300……63. Is this the raw dump file?

Am I doing the right thing and following the right steps? If not, what's the right way to do it in a forensically sound manner?

After extraction the raw dump, how to read it? any suggested freeware?

Will the memory dump contain SMS and even deleted ones? Phone book, pictures and emails if the phone supports internet?

Thanks in advance

Posted : 06/07/2012 8:48 pm
cyrus
(@cyrus)
Eminent Member

Just a point for the Nokia "PM maintenance". I havent used the Universal Flasher box, but I am assuming this will only get you the PM Records from the device. PM Records are not a "raw memory dump" but you can get some deleted data back from them. Sorry if you were aware of this fact, but I thought it worth pointing out incase you didnt know this.

There are some discussions across various forums about decoding the information from PM records, one of which is here http//forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/f83/nokia-permanent-memory-1080640/.

The file can probably be opened in notepad. The boxes I have used in the past tend to output the PM data as text data and put the record,field before each part of data,

ie [308,5] 32323232320000000000

where 308 = record, 5 = field, 32323232320000000000 is the data for that field.