Digital Forensics Certification Board (DFCB) announces online applications

The Digital Forensics Certification Board (DFCB), an independent certifications organization for digital evidence examiners, today announced plans to launch a fully automated application process to keep up with the demand for this significant certification. On March 2nd, 2009, the DFCB officially launched its certification program that offers two levels of professional designations and its limited “Founders Process” for initial certifications. The DFCB offers Digital Forensics Certified Practitioner (DFCP) and Digital Forensics Certified Associate (DFCA) designations from its independent, community-driven organization…With one hundred thirty five (135) certified individuals thus far, the manual application process was not optimal, given the burgeoning demand!

Facing a critical need for certification in this discipline, a congressionally mandated report, released February 18th from the National Academy of Sciences and published by the National Research Council, finds serious deficiencies in the nation’s forensic science system and calls for major reforms and new research. Rigorous and mandatory certification programs for forensic scientists are currently lacking, the report says, as are strong standards and protocols for analyzing and reporting on evidence.

Applications are currently being accepted starting June 14, 2010. The online process will require the candidate to submit all required information within 60 days from start of the application process. These candidates will assist in the creation of formal examination content and processes. The DFCB’s Phase II Certification Process offers those who have several active years of experience in the digital forensics discipline the opportunity to become certified by demonstrating extensive expertise and experience.

DFCB Certification Process

The DFCP or DFCA designation is only available to Digital Evidence Professionals with a minimum of 5-years experience related to digital evidence or digital forensics. Those seeking the DFCP must demonstrate 2 or more years of practical experience in the last 3 years. Those seeking the DFCA are not required to demonstrate practical experience over the last 3 years.

Get The Latest DFIR News!

Join the Forensic Focus newsletter for the best DFIR articles in your inbox every month.

Unsubscribe any time. We respect your privacy - read our privacy policy.

Phase II candidates must:

• Score a minimum number of points on the DFCB Assessment Scoring Sheet and provide supporting documentation
• Meet the DFCB Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct
• Pass a background review
• Develop 15 usable test questions with multiple-choice answers. Question and answers will follow the instructions posted on the website.
• Take an anonymous non-scored test sampling potential test questions

For complete Phase II Process requirements, additional information and the link to the online application process, visit

“The DFCB continues to see immense support and involvement from both private and public digital forensic practitioners,” said Sam Guttman President of the Digital Forensics Certification Board. “We wish to particularly thank the NIJ for their ongoing support as the DFCB expands its program and asserts its unique value within the digital forensic field.”

Once the Phase II Process concludes, those seeking certifications will be required to apply to sit for a comprehensive exam, among other requirements

DFCP and DFCA Designations
There are two types of forensics certifications offered through the DFCB – Digital Forensics Certified Practitioner (DFCP) and Digital Forensic Certified Associate (DFCA). The DFCP and DFCA designations are only available to digital evidence professionals with a strict minimum of five years of experience related to digital evidence or digital forensics. Those seeking the DFCP must demonstrate two or more years of practical experience in the last three years. Those seeking the DFCA are not required to demonstrate practical experience over the last three years.

About the National Institute of Justice
NIJ is the research, development and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice and is dedicated to researching crime control and justice issues. NIJ provides objective, independent, evidence-based knowledge and tools to meet the challenges of crime and justice, particularly at the state and local levels. NIJ’s principal authorities are derived from the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968, as amended (see 42 USC § 3721-3723) and Title II of the Homeland Security Act of 2002.

About the DFCB
The search for a professional certification for digital evidence practitioners was started in 2004 by the National Institute of Justice through a Cooperative Agreement at the University of Central Florida’s National Center for Forensic Science. An independent non-profit, Digital Forensics Certification Board was officially founded on March 2, 2009 and leads a collective effort among law enforcement, private sector, government, military and academia to promote public trust and confidence in the digital forensics profession. The Board currently provides two types of professional certifications. One for digital evidence examiners, the Digital Forensics Certified Practitioner (DFCP) and one for digital evidence professionals who are not currently conducting examinations, the Digital Forensics Certified Associate (DFCA). Visit to find out more.

©2010 Digital Forensics Certification Board. All rights reserved.

Leave a Comment

Latest Videos

This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Important: No API Key Entered.

Many features are not available without adding an API Key. Please go to the YouTube Feed settings page to add an API key after following these instructions.

Latest Articles

Share to...