±Your Account

Username
Password

Forgotten password/username?

Site Members:

New Today: 0 Overall: 36312
New Yesterday: 7 Visitors: 203

±Follow Forensic Focus

Forensic Focus Facebook PageForensic Focus on TwitterForensic Focus LinkedIn GroupForensic Focus YouTube Channel

RSS feeds: News Forums Articles

±Latest Articles

±Latest Videos

±Latest Jobs

Is all the "several passes" an Guttman theory a kind of hoax

Computer forensics discussion. Please ensure that your post is not better suited to one of the forums below (if it is, please post it there instead!)
Reply to topicReply to topic Printer Friendly Page
Forum FAQSearchView unanswered posts
Page 1, 2, 3  Next 

jaclaz

Is all the "several passes" an Guttman theory a kind of hoax

Post Posted: Dec 01, 07 03:37

I am in no way a "professional", and not even "forensically oriented", I am just an amateur with a liking for filesystems and data recovery, so pardon me if the following seems in any way naive or improper.

Reading the (fun, or seen the other way round tragical) story about the "seven passes" to get rid of a virus, I remembered this old thread (on another board) about it:
www.boot-land.net/foru...topic=2683

I am still convinced of what I wrote in my post there, has anyone direct knowledge about this?

Which means either:
1) that he actually recovered ANY data after a single wiping pass without using a MFM microscope
or:
2) that he actually recovered any data using a MFM microscope, and if yes, after how many passes
and:
3) if he succeeded, was the "probabilistic" data recovered accepted in a Court?

Thanks in advance for any contributions and ideas.

jaclaz  

azrael

Re: Is all the "several passes" an Guttman theory a kind of

Post Posted: Dec 01, 07 13:35